the League

Team Rosters





Site Map





CONTENTS:  League Members |
Season Format | Player Eligibility | Playing Rules
How to Join | Directions to Game Sites

League Members

The Mid-Maryland Boys League is a Junior High basketball conference made up of select teams from four counties in Central Maryland. All thirteen (13) public middle schools in Frederick County have programs. The Maryland School for the Deaf and St. John's, also in Frederick County, are also members.

Other conference programs include Glenwood and Folly Quarter (Howard County), Poolesville (Montgomery County), and Mt. Airy (Carroll County).

Although not affiliated with the public school system, all teams represent defined middle school draw areas.

(click on school for directions)
 Ballenger Creek Ballenger Creek Middle School
 Brunswick Brunswick High School
 Catoctin Thurmont Middle School
 Crestwood Crestwood Middle School
 Folly Quarter  Glenelg HS and Marriott's Ridge HS
 Glenwood  Glenelg HS and Marriott's Ridge HS
 Middletown Middletown High School
 Monocacy TJ High School
 MSD Maryland School for the Deaf
 Mt. Airy Mt. Airy Middle School
 Linganore Linganore High School
 Oakdale Oakdale Middle School
 Poolesville Poolesville High School
 St. John's St. John's at Prospect Hall
 TJ Thomas Johnson Middle School
 Urbana Urbana High School
 Walkersville Walkersville Middle School
 West Frederick W.F. Middle and Frederick High School
 Windsor Knolls Urbana High School

Each member organization fields both a varsity (8th grade and under) and a junior varsity (7th grade and under) team.

Season Format

The League has regular season play, beginning in late November, and conducts two Conference Championship Tournaments in March. Based on school enrollment, ten (10) programs participate in both - an AA tournament and an A tournament. All teams participate in the year-end events and are seeded based on regular season records.

The conference is split into three divisions - Chesapeake, Piedmont and Antietam - based largely on their high school league affiliations. Teams play home-away against each divisional opponent and round out an 18-game regular season schedule against selected teams outside their division.

The postseason tournaments are awarded on a rotating basis. Walkersville will host this year's AA tourney and Oakdale will host the A event.

Player Eligibility

No varsity player may attain the age of 15 prior to Jan. 1 of the current playing season and no jayvee player may turn 14 prior to Apr. 1 of that season.

Players must also remain academically eligible with no failing grades and a minimum 2.0 GPA (Frederick County, MD. high school policy). Eligibility can be regained at interim report time.

Playing Rules

All games are played under National Federation Rules with two exceptions:

  • 1) quarters are seven (7) minutes in length
  • 2) full-court pressure may not be applied in the second half by a team leading by 20 points or more.

A complete set of League rules and regulations can be found in our Constitution & By-Laws.

How to Join

Interested in becoming a member of the Mid-Maryland League? ... or scheduling non-league games against some of our teams? Just get in touch with any of our League officers or email the web author.

We'll get you all the information you need and answer any questions you might have.

Return to: Top |Home Page